Other Federal Agencies

The following Federal agencies also play a role in addressing the domestic HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing Federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. EEOC has produced formal guidance documents, as well as a wide range of fact sheets, question and answer documents, and other publications to help employees and employers understand the complex issues surrounding disability discrimination.

In support of the implementation of the National HIV/AIDS Strategy, the Chair of the EEOC submitted recommendations for increasing employment opportunities for people living with HIV and a plan for addressing employment-related discrimination against people living with HIV.

U.S. Agency for International Development

The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is an independent Federal Government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State. USAID has been the principal U.S. agency to extend assistance to countries recovering from disaster, trying to escape poverty, and engaging in democratic reforms.

USAID oversees HIV/AIDS programs for the Department of State in over 100 countries and works with host governments and local organizations to combat HIV/AIDS. Learn about these programs and the countries in which USAID works. As part of this work, USAID also supports applied research and public health evaluations to provide local implementing partners, donors, and national governments with the evidence base to improve HIV/AIDS services and inform policy.  Read more about its research activities.

Connect with EEOC

Connect with USAID

Featured Resources

Additional Resources

Content provided by EEOC and USAID.

Last revised: 10/01/2011