Indian Health Service

The Indian Health Service (IHS), part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides a comprehensive health service delivery system for approximately 2 million American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN) who belong to 566 federally recognized tribes in 35 States. The IHS HIV/AIDS Program encompasses the major service-delivery systems accessed by the AI/AN community, including IHS, tribal, and urban facilities.

The IHS HIV/AIDS Program goals include ensuring access to quality health care services for those at risk and those living with HIV, increasing individual awareness of personal HIV serostatus, increasing HIV testing, addressing HIV-related social stigma and discrimination, implementing best practices, and continuing to provide and expand quality HIV care. The HIV Program continues to grow and implement new initiatives each year, including tribal policy projects, national screening initiatives, telehealth projects, and HIV clinical training.

Connect with IHS

Featured Resources

Additional Resources

Content provided by IHS.

Read related blog posts

Last revised: 06/01/2012